Schengen visa

Recently we published an article on the various precautions one should take before planning for an international trip. This article has information on what is a Schengen visa and what use it may have for you?

What is a Schengen Visa?

A Schengen visa is a short-stay visa that allows a person to travel to any members of the Schengen area, per stays up to 90 days for tourism or business purposes.

The Schengen visa is a common visa in EU as it enables a person to enter freely and travel within and leave the Schengen zone form any of the Schengen member countries as there are no border controls within the Schengen zone.

However if someone is planning to got to Europe for the purpose of study, work or to settle there for more then 90days then you must apply for a national visa for that European country as Schengen visa’s only allow a stay for 90 days only.

It is worth mentioning for Indians they must apply for a Schengen visa prior to there visit to EU.

Which Europe Countries issue Schengen Visas?

26 countries have signed the Schengen agreement which allows a person to travel freely within the Schengen zone. These countries are-

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein

Schengen Visa Types

There are manly three types of Schengen visa-

  • Single entry – a single entry visa allows its holder to enter a Schengen country only once. When you leave a country you cannot enter It again.
  • Double entry– a double entry visa allows its holder to enter a country twice
  • Multiple entry – as the name suggest with a multiple entry visa you can enter and exit a country multiple times.

Have any Question or Comment?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *